Baby · Lifestyle

New Baby! (How I found an induced labour)

I have been away for a while due to having my little bundle of joy ๐Ÿ™‚

It all happened very quickly! I went for my 36 week scan and was told that my baby looked very big (over 8lbs) and therefore I had to have a gestational diabetes test. This meant I had to fast for at least 10 hours before the blood test, the next day when I went to the hospital I had my first blood test completed and then I had to drink a pint of Lucozade…. when I heard about the test I didn’t think this would be too bad as I drink Lucozade quite often…but…. 8:45 in the morning?! Also I had to drink it VERY quickly – SUGAR RUSH! But also yuck soooo sweet when drunk all in one! I normally have a bottle and it lasts me all day if not two!
Any way! After downing the Lucozade I then had to sit and wait for 2 hours for the second blood test….2 hours sitting and waiting in a hospital chair for 2 hours was not fun, I wasn’t even allowed to go for a walk in case i passed out!

After the second blood test i was free! I went home but started to feel really yucki… shaky, faint and just not good, this later also developed to low fetal movement – I was sooo worried as I only had a few weeks left till my due date! After going to the hospital we found out my GD test was .2 over which meant clinically I had gestational diabetes, rather scary as know one really explained what this meant apart from I would probably be induced the following week ( way to scare me!), luckily though the little person inside started moving whilst we were strapped up to the machine ๐Ÿ™‚ (phew!)

After this I had to monitor my blood sugar levels an hour after every meal – all came back completely normal ๐Ÿ™‚

The following week I was induced, I was really worried about being induced as I had read a lot about this prolonging labour, ending in a C-section, ย being more painful than a natural birth. But luckily I was induced at 5 pm on the Friday and my little Man was born at 5.57am on the Saturday morning ๐Ÿ™‚ Which I have been told was very quick?! ย The only problem I did have was a midwife who took over the ward during the normal midwives break did not believe that I was in Active labour! I had to be very pushy before she would examine me- after which she let me know that actually yes I was in active labour and my waters were ready to break… I should go over to the delivery suite very quickly! So my advice would be to listen to your body – you know your body and know when you are ready!

I was very lucky that during my active labour I was able to use a birthing pool – which I would highly recommend, it really helped with the pain and helped me to relax more – I also used gas and air – amazing stuff!

My little man is now almost 2 weeks old a perfect in every way ( I may be slightly biased!) Oh! and he was only 7lbs when he was born….did he need to be induced?!

Leave a Reply

